Skip to main content

Distinguished Writer Series, 1984-

 Series — document-box: 25
Identifier: RG 15.2

Scope and Contents

This sub-series consists of ephemera and photographs related to some of the authors who spoke in the Distinguished Writers Series at Chapman. Photographs in the collection are of the following authors:

John Barth (1984) Galway Kinnell (1985) Kurt Vonnegut (1992) Diane Wakoski (1996) Tom Wolfe (1985)

and two faculty, Terri Joseph and Tom Massey.

Ephemera in the collections include program flyers for the following authors:

Edward Albee, 1999 Lawrence Ferlinghetti, 2000 Carlos Fuentes, 1994 William Gibson, 1997 Allen Ginsberg, 1993 Pico Iyer, 2011 Wole Soyinka, 1996 Edmund White, 2002


  • 1984-

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Biographical / Historical

The Distinguished Writers Series brings exceptional writers to the campus for an evening lecture. In the past, the Series was a joint collaboration between the Cultural Affairs Committee and the English Department. This series has been in place since the 1980's, although a complete history and timetable is unknown at this time.


From the Sub-Group: 0 Linear Feet

Language of Materials


Repository Details

Part of the University Archives, Frank Mt. Pleasant Library of Special Collections & Archives Repository

Chapman University
One University Drive
Orange CA 92866 USA US